Whit Pressinger - 20,795 days since Somerset

0 Replies, 944 Views

Hey Folks - Gotta start by saying I remember those years in late elementary as some of the best times I ever had.  No worries - just having fun.  So, after Somerset they bussed me off to Western Jr High which was a lot of fun too.  Then off to BCC where in 10th Grade I had far more fun than any human being should which threw my DNA for a loop for awhile.  After BCC my family rented a house right smack on the ocean in Cocoa Beach, Florida.  I could peek out my bedroom window and see the waves breaking 200 feet away - pretty cool to say the least.  Of course, everyone in Cocoa Beach learns to surf so I did that for a few years while getting my AA degree.   Next I went off to Florida Atlantic University for my undergraduate degree and taught Jn High Science and Math at Jefferson Middle School in Merritt Island, Florida. 

I then went to University of Florida where I got my Masters in Emotional Disturbance (later they changed it to Emotionally Handicapped (EH) to reduce offending anyone).  While some may argue I was a bit EH myself, it was a program designed for teaching emotionally disturbed children.  This is a nice way of saying grumpy kids who get mad way too often.  I taught 12 EH children (ages 6-12) in Vero Beach Florida for 3 years and had my own portable classroom in the back.  I had a paddle on the wall reminding kids they will get a sore rear-end if they break any of 5 rules - Hitting someone first - Running away from class - etc.  Over the first few days many would try the running away routine but quickly found their 26 year old teacher (aka Mr. Press) could outrun the best of them thanks to all the practice I had at Somerset - Of course, paddles are now in the Educational museum of history.